Upcoming key events and releases

Author: Greg Michalowski | Category: News

Off to a quiet start

The week is off to a quiet start.   The economic calendar is light and the markets are sleep walking a bit.

The US calendar is void of meaningful releases but there will be a slew of earnings on the calendar that could send the stock market moving.   Also, the ECB and BOJ will will have rate announcements, the UK will release inflation and retail sales statistics, and Australia will release employment reports.

Below are some of the key releases that could impact trading.

Tuesday:
  • New Zealand CPI q/q.  6:45 PM ET Monday /2245 GMT Monday.  The expectation is for 2Q CPI to rise by 0.2% Q/Q and 1.9% YoY (vs 2.2%).
  • Australia monetary policy meeting minutes.  9:30 PM ET Monday/0130 GMT.  
  • UK CPI m/m +0.2% est.  YoY est 2.9% vs 2.9% last. Core YoY 2.6% vs 2.6% last
  • BOE Carney speaks. He unveils the new 10 pound note.  May answer questions.  9:30 AM ET/1330 GMT
Wednesday
  • US building permits/housing starts. 8:30 AM ET/1230 GMT. Building permits est to come in at 1200K vs 1168K last.  Housing starts est 1160K vs 1092K last.
  • Crude oil inventories: 10:30 AM ET/1430 GMT. The US crude oil inventories have seen large draw downs over the last 2-weeks.  Will there be a 3rd week?
Thursday
  • Australia Unemployment (930 AM ET(Wednesday)/0130 GMT (Thursday). Employment change estimate 15.0K vs 42K last. Unemployment rate 5.6% vs 5.5% last. Last month full employment rose 52.1K and part time employment fell -10.1K
  • BOJ rate decision. No change expected.
  • UK retail sales. 4:30 AM ET/0830 GMT.  Est 0.4% MoM vs -1.2% last.  YoY 2.5% vs +0.9% last.  Ex auto and fuel +0.5% vs -1.6% last MoM. YoY ex auto and fuel 2.5% vs +0.6% last
  • ECB interest rate statement No change expected but will the ECB lean toward tapered of stimulus or will Draghi talk down the EURUSD?  Announcement at 7:45 AM ET/1145 GMT.  ECB press conference 8:30 AM ET/1230 GMT
  • US Philadelphia Manufacturing index 8:30 AM ET/1230 GMT. Est 23.7 est vs 27.6 last.
Friday:
  • Canada CPI MoM 8:30 AM ET/1230 GMT. No change expected vs +0.1% last month. YoY 1.1% vs 1.3% last.  Core 1.3% vs 1.3% last.  
  • Canada retail sales: 8:30 AM ET/1230 GMT.  Est +0.3% vs +0.8% last.  Ex Auto +0.1% vs 1.5% last.  
On the stock earnings calendar, below are some of the major releases

Monday: Charles Schwab Corp, .BlackRock Inc, Netflix
Tuesday:TD Ameritrade,  Bank of America, J&J, UnitedHealth Group, IBM, Lockhead Martin, Goldman Sachs
Wednesday:DISH Network,  Morgan Stanley, Qualcomm,  American Express,  Unilever
Thursday:eBay,  E*TRADE,  Microsoft,  NCR Corp,  Phillip Morris International,  American Airlines
Friday:GE,  Schlumberger,  Colgate-Palmolive,  Honeywell