What's up next week? A look at some of the key events and releases

Author: Greg Michalowski | Category: News

For the week starting on January 7th

Now that the US/Canadian employment report has come and gone, it is time to look ahead to next weeks events and releases.  What will potentially move the market next week:

Monday, January 8
  • UK Halifax home price index.  The number will be release that 3:30 AM ET/08 30 GMT with expectations for a 0.2% gain MoM. The 3M/Year rise is expected to come in at 3.3% vs 3.9% last month
  • BOC Business Outlook survey Survey. After the much stronger employment report, the market will be focused on what this report has to say with the next BOC meeting approaching on January 17th.  The report will come out at 10:30 AM ET/1530 GMT
  • FOMC member Bostic will speak at 12:40 PM ET/1740 GMT.  Bostic is expected to speak about the US economic outlook and monetary policy
  • FOMC member Williams speak at 1:35 PM ET/1835 GMT.  Williams will be participating on a panel discussion about whether the Federal Reserve should revise their 2% inflation target
Tuesday, January 9
  • China CPI and PPI YoY will be released on Tuesday night in the US at 8:30 PM ET/ 0100 GMT on Wednesday.
Wednesday, January 10
  • UK manufacturing production will be released at 4:30 AM ET/0930 GMT.  The expectations are for 0.3% increase MoM.  Industrial production will also be released with expectations for 0.4%.
  • Canada building permits for November will be released at 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT.  Last month permits rose by a strong 3.5%.  There is no estimate this month
  • The weekly crude oil inventories will be released at 10:30 AM ET/1530 GMT. Inventories have seen a string of drawdowns and the price of crude oil has risen back above the $60 per barrel level.
  • Australian retail sales for November are expected to rise by 0.4% versus 0.5% last month.  The release will occur at 7:30 PM ET/0030 GMT (Thursday).
Thursday. January 11
  • US PPI final demand for the month of December is expected to rise by 0.2%. Excluding energy is also expected to rise by 0.2%.  The YoY final demand is expected at 3.0% with ex-food and energy YoY +2.5%.  The release will be at 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT
  • FOMC member Dudley will speak at 3:30 PM ET/1830 GMT.  The thing is due to speak about the US economic outlook at the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association's
Friday, January 12
  • US CPI for December will be released at 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT.  The expectations are for 0.1% MoM.  The ex-food and energy is expected to rise by 0.2% MoM.  YoY is expected to dip to 2.1 from 2.2%, with the core measure expected to remain unchanged at 1.7%
  • US retail sales will also be released with the expectations of a 0.5% gain.