AUD traders - plenty coming up from the RBA on Tuesday May 21

Author: Eamonn Sheridan | Category: Central Banks

I posted on this last week here:


A reminder:
  • Minutes of the May 2019 Monetary Policy Meeting 
  • 11.30 am Sydney time
  • 0130GMT
To be closely followed by a speech from the big guy himself ... Philip Lowe, Governor
  • Topic: The Economic Outlook and Monetary Policy
  • 12.15 pm Sydney time
  • 0215GMT
I wonder if the minutes will be a little stale given we've had the election out come now.

But Lowe's speech will be worth tuning in for.

With the government returned their promised tax cuts should come on line from July 1, giving a bit of a stimulus so spending power. Some economic modelling equate the tax cuts with a 25bp point cut in the cash rate. While we can split hairs about this there should be no doubt its a positive. 



ForexLive
By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, revised Privacy Notice and Terms of Service. More information about cookiesClose