According to Reuters, Toshiro Muto is the front-runner, citing “sources close to the process”.

The other two contenders:

The prime minister’s short-list includes Asian Development Bank head Haruhiko Kuroda, Japan’s former currency tsar, and Kazumasa Iwata, a former government economist who served as deputy BOJ governor alongside Muto.

Note – Abe will need the approval of both houses of parliament for his nomination.