US employment and Fed's Powell highlight next weeks events and releases

Author: Greg Michalowski | Category: News

The highlighted events and economic releases for next week's trading:

The RBA rate decision, Fed's Powell testimony and the US employment report highlight the events and economic releases in the new trading week. 

Monday: 
  • China Manufacturing PMI. 8 PM ET Sunday/0100 GMT.  Estimate 51.7 vs 51.4 last
  • OPEC meeting all day
  • Chicago PMI.  9:45 AM ET/1445 GMT.  Est. 59.0 vs 61.1 last month
  • US Pending Home sales.  10 AM ET/1500 GMT.  Est 1.5% vs -2.2% last month
Tuesday
  • RBA interest rate decision.   10 PM ET Monday/0330 GMT.  Est 0.10% unchanged 
  • UK Final Manufacturing PMI. 4:30 AM ET/0930 GMT. Est 55.2 vs 55.2 preliminary
  • Canada GDP month-to-month for September. 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT. Estimate 0.9% vs. 1.2% last month. Quarterly GDP annualized 47.6% vs. -38.7% in the 2nd quarter. GDP year on year -2.9% vs. -3.8%
  • Fed chair Powell testifies on Capitol Hill. 10 AM ET/1500 GMT
  • ISM manufacturing PMI for November. 10 AM ET/1500 GMT. Estimate 58.0 vs. 59.3 last. 
  • ECB's Lagarde speaks. 12 PM ET/1700 GMT
Wednesday
  • RBA Gov. Lowe speaks.  7 PM ET/1200 GMT.  
  • Australian GDP QoQ. 7:30 PM ET/1230 GMT.  Estimate 2.4% vs. -7.0% last month. Year on year -4.5% vs. -6.3%
  • ADP employment change for November. 8:15 AM ET/1315 GMT. Estimate 420 K vs. 365K last month
  • Fed chair Powell testifies on Capitol Hill. 10 AM ET/1500 GMT
Thursday
  • US initial jobless claims. 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT. 768K vs. 778K
  • US ISM services PMI . 10 AM ET/1500 GMT. Estimate 56.0 vs. 56 16 last month
Friday
  • Canada employment change. 8:30 AM ET/1330 GMT. Net change in employment 20.0 K vs. 83.6 K last month. Unemployment rate a .9% vs. a .9% last month. 
  • US employment statistics for November. 8:30 AM ET 1330 GMT. Nonfarm payroll 500 K vs. 638K last month. Unemployment rate 6.8% vs. 6.9% last month. Average hourly earnings 0.1%.
For bank trade ideas, check out eFX Plus
By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, revised Privacy Notice and Terms of Service. More information about cookiesClose