BOE Governor Carney to deliver speech Thursday

Author: Adam Button | Category: Central Banks

Carney speech to take place at 4 pm in London (1500 GMT, 11 am ET)

Bloomberg reports that Carney will speak tomorrow, presumably about the Brexit vote.

Earlier today, the FT reports that top bankers were called into the BOE and pressured to continue to lend. They were given a supportive message about the amount of liquidity in the system and was said to be the first in a series of mandatory 'fireside chats'.

The bankers were told the BOE would be watching housing closely and other potential hotspots.

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, revised Privacy Notice and Terms of Service. More information about cookiesClose